Buckingham Palace Garden Party

Quite the grandiose title, eh?  But really, this is not about British Royalty, or even how I want to go back to England and take the Buckingham Palace tour.  And it doesn’t even have anything to do with how domesticated… domestic… that I’ve become lately.

 

No, this is about my ongoing, once yearly, love affair with an online contest called NaNoWriMo.  That’s National Novel Writing Month.  Only it’s not just for the US.  It’s a worldwide contest!

 

Only, it’s not really a contest, exactly.  The only prize at the end of it is pride in knowing that you accomplished your goal.  And what is that goal you ask?  why, that goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in just 30 days.

 

Now, now.  Pick your jaw up off the floor, it’s really not as complex as it sounds.  It comes down to sitting down and writing 1,667 words a day.  Most people do that in emails and text messages that they type during a day.  This is NOT difficult.

 

And it doesn’t have to be fiction.  It can be your memoirs.  It can be a fifty thousand word essay on the ever changing nature of monarch butterflies.  Hell, it can be a 50k word look at why so many people still like the Simpsons and think that Family Guy is funny.

 

Or, for S, it could be 50,000 words on the glory and majesty of Stephen Frye.

 

It doesn’t matter what you write, or even how well it’s written.  All that matters, all that matters, is that you write.  And finishing doesn’t even matter all that much.  The finishing just gets you to a point of pride in yourself that you can stand up and go, “Yes! Look at me! Look at what I accomplished!”

 

And even if you don’t accomplish the 50k, even if you only get 5k, or 20k, or 20 words down, you started.  You sat yourself down and set yourself a goal, most people can do that.  But it takes one hellofa commitment and guts to actually START towards that goal.

 

Now, if you want to know more, there are links over there —–> in my sidebar.

 

Now what, you may be asking yourself at this point, what does this have to do with a garden party at Buckingham Palace?

 

Nothing.  Exactly.

 

There is an online shop called http://www.englishteastore.com

And they have all kinds of british goodies and treats.  And tea.  Lots and lots of tea.  Including their own brand and blends.  One of their black tea blends is called “Buckingham Palace Garden Party”, and it is the best thing ever.  It’s an Earl Grey mix which in and of itself is pretty ordinary.  But then, they add in some lavender and it goes from your typical ‘wake up’ tea to ‘wake up and THINK!’ tea.

 

I call it my Brain Tea, or my Creativi-tea.  I discovered it’s magical powers on my brain 5 years ago, when I did my first Nanowrimo.  I brewed myself up a big pot of this tea, at just as midnight struck on November 1st, I started to write.  And write and write and drink and write and drink drink drink.  When finally my body gave out on me about six hours later, the pot of tea was gone, but 20,000 words had been written.

 

So this post is an ode to the tea that has kept me going for five Nanowrimos, an ode to the elixir that charges my creative and entertaining synapses in my brain and helps send my fingers tapdancing over the keys in such wild abandon.

 

It’s also a shameless promotion for two of my favorite online things, Nanowrimo and English Tea Store.

 

I hope that this has sparked some interest in your mind about sitting down and finally trying to get that story hiding in your head out.  You know the one.  The one that you’ve wanted to tell since middle school, but thought it wouldn’t matter. This is your chance.

 

Set your goal.  Set your mind.  Do it.

 

You’ll be surprised just how good it feels to get something done.

Leave a Reply

