My Favorite Hard Thing

Provocative title, I know.  Intriguing, isn’t it?  Whatever could be this favorite hard thing?  whatever could it be?

 

Could it be, a diamond? The hardest stone on earth, so sparkly and shiny and definitely not on my finger but it probably should be?

 

Could it be granite?  One of the hardest stones in existence and granite does make for beautiful countertops in that kitchen that I keep dreaming up in my mind.

 

Could it be steel?  The material used to build great building and bridges and all manner of modern marvels that I want to someday get to see.

 

No.  No, while those things are quite nice and they do have some favorite ideas of mine, they’re not my ultimate favorite.  No, my favorite hard thing would have to be Love.

 

Yes, Love.

 

Now, some people will say that Love is the easiest thing in the world, and they’d be partially right.  Love is the easiest emotion for a lot of people to develop.  It’s easy to fall in Love, so hard to recover.  But no, that’s the easy part.  The hard part is sustaining love.

 

And it only gets harder with distance.

 

My boyfriend and I are currently 8700 miles (14000 Km) apart with a 17 hours time difference as well.  It’s 430pm on Monday for me, it’s 930am on Tuesday for him.  When he gets home from work tonight at 6pm, it’s 1am for me.   If anybody thinks that maintaining a healthy relationship in these circumstances is easy, then they’re crazy.  It’s not. It’s hard.

 

But, I wouldn’t trade it for anything at the moment.  Yes, it would be so much better to be with him than without him right now.  Anybody will tell you that.  Being apart from a loved one is not an easy situation to be in at all.  And it’s definitely not ideal.  But why, then, if it’s so hard to live on a different time schedule than everybody else around me, why is this my favorite hard thing?

 

Because if I, he, and we together can make it through this, then we have the strength of love, commitment, and confidence to make it through life together.  I know that he loves me.  I know that he wants to be with me, and I know that he wants to marry me.  He’s told me all of that already.  And I love him, I want to be with him, I want to marry him, and I want to be the mother to his child(ren).

 

I don’t mind waiting up at night for him to come home, I enjoy it rather.  Listening to him working on his programming side projects, tap tap tapping away at his keyboard, is one of the most relaxing things in the world.  I can fall asleep so easily.

 

One night, we really didn’t have all that much to talk about, but instead of just being alone, we both curled up in our respective beds, each with our respective books, and read for an hour.  It was one of the best nights, ever.  m

 

Is life away from him hard? Yes.  Will being physically in the same place make it any easier? Possibly.  Rather, it will make the physical parts of our love easier, but it may make other parts harder, who knows.

 

But I do know that I am a strong enough woman, and he is a strong enough man, and we are a strong enough couple, we can make this work.

 

And that, my friends, is why Love is my favorite hard thing.

One response to “My Favorite Hard Thing

  1. I like your favorite “hard thing”:)
    This was very endearing to read.

Leave a Reply

