Makeup

I simply do not get it.  I don’t.  I do not understand makeup.  The appeal of it, how to put it on, what to do once I have it on.

 

Ok, that’s not true. I understand the impulses of wanting to look better, or even using it as an enhancement for what is already there.

 

I simply don’t know how to go about doing that.

 

I can put on theatrical makeup, that I understand, but real life makeup?  that is just plain sillyness to me.  I have no idea what to do.

 

So I’ve been looking through some youtube videos and getting some tips.

 

Concealer, then foundation, use a mineral foundation because I wear glasses and mineral foundations won’t slip as much.

 

Since I wear glasses, go bold and statement with the eyes, so that they’re not hidden behind the frames and get lost in all that glassy glare.

 

Subtlety on the lips is great for the daytime,boldness is good for going out at night.  and your cheeks should shimmer and shine, but from metallic blush, not oily face.

 

Ok, I get all that. that makes sense.  And I honestly think that I could do that.  My biggest problem, I think, is that I have no idea what makeups to use.

 

I’m almost 30 (next July, close enough, hush), and I’m currently dealing with the worst breakout of acne that I’ve had since high school.  This is slightly bothersome to me, but that’s not my problem.

 

I know nothing about my skin tone, or my skin condition.  I don’t know if I’ve got oily or dry or sensitive skin.  I don’t know what colors look best, and I sure as heck don’t have any idea what I’m doing.

 

And Eyeshadow, I’ve gotten a bit better at putting on multiple colors, but my eyelids always get so heavy after i put it on.  I mean, heavy.  Like I could go to sleep or you could hypnotize me easily, heavy.  Is that normal?

 

And don’t even get me started on eyeliner and mascara.  how can you stand to put something so pointy that close to your eyes? I don’t get it.  I was watching this one youtube, and the girl actually got eyeliner ON HER EYEBALL, and it didn’t bother her.  She didn’t even flinch.  And I’m sitting over there, my eyes are watering just watching her, and i’m just freaking out.

 

Also, Eyebrows.  I have never in my life had my eyebrows plucked or waxed of shaped.  And I don’t know that I particularly want to start doing so now.  that’s a frightening thought to me.  But then, I wonder, what if it really would make me seem to be more beautiful.

 

And then, I remember that I’d have to keep plucking, tweezing, and waxing them for the rest of my life, or just shave them off and let them grow back.  And none of those options are appealing to me.

 

But, is this the kind of drama I have to look forward to if I’m to join the professional world?  Is there a job somewhere that I can get that will be both good for me, good for the community, and not require me to put layer upon layer of stuff on my face?  That’s not working as a random schmuck in a retail store?

 

What’s wrong with my natural beauty?  Granted, my pores are huge, and at the moment my face looks more like it belongs to a 15 year old than a 30 year old.  But still.  I am a beautiful woman.

 

so why am I starting to feel that I need makeup to have other people see what I know?

One response to “Makeup

  1. Natural beauty is a wonderful thing. Not everyone can pull it off though. I seen a few females with eyebrows that have never been touch some actually look great with it. It fit them to a T and actually compliment them. Others make me want to break out my wax machine and tweezer.

    Youtube tutorial, lol, a good percent of them are actually good. Child I have learn a lot from youtube.

    The way I see it is that natural beauty come from inside. You can enhance the outside features a little or a lot. For me I love my eyes. I have a mixture of everything and it shows on various part of me. My grandfather on my father side is mix with Chinese. For that my father eyes were a bit slanty and so are mines. I have a very small upper lid. It allow me to put more eye shadows on an have a playing field to also wrap my eyes with black eyeliner to help it pop! So I just focus on my eye area. I could do my whole face to hide all my acne but what for. I focus on what I want people to focus on.

    So if you feel as if you don’t want to enhance your outer beauty or pick one thing to focus on. It is alright…it is how you feel about yourself which is more important. But when it is time to work again if you want certain jobs you have to dress the part from head to toe…

Leave a Reply

