JWO

Or, Job Week One.

Let me just say this, it was a bit of a rocky start, but I am absolutely loving this job.  Monday was difficult with getting lost for a bit, getting locked out of the building, not having anything but paper to stare at and try to absorb.  Tuesday was almost as bad, but we got through it all and then wednesday morning was going to be the big test.

We headed to the actual office and spent the day sitting with a buddy, listening and watching as they took their calls and performed their duties.  Some of us got the chance to do some calls as well, just to try and get us used to it.  Then, we were going to be pulled off to do our own training on the side.  Which almost happened.  Until the computers that were set aside for us weren’t on the network.  Oops.

And then came Thursday.  We were going to be ‘on our own’.  Luckily, nobody is really ever on their own.  We were sequestered in a small area, had one of the team leaders with us to help us through the day (lord bless Michael).  Halfway through the day some of us got put on calls, while the rest of us stayed doing emails.

Talk about overwhelming.  It was a lot to take in and try to absorb.  We were being trained with about half of what we should have been given and then being tossed to the wolves. The lions were going to feast upon our flesh.  And then, slowly, sometime in the lat afternoon, it started to make sense.  And then, as part of the bribery deal made earlier, Michael came around with his bag of chocolate goodies and gave us all one.  I tried to bargain him up to two, but he stood firm that I only got one.  He did, however, tell me that I was his star for the day.  And that was the confidence booster that I needed.

of course, over night I started to wonder if he had been joking, so when i went in today I asked him and he informed me that he was very serious about it.  I had been the top performer out of the temps and I was the star.  Good way to start the morning.

We did emails for the first few bits. and then the call queue went up so they put us on the phones.  And it only got better.  The more I did, the more confident I felt, the less I had to call for help.  I think I may have even saved an account for the company today, which is killer awesome if that’s the case.  I feel good about what I’m doing and I’m actually starting to enjoy it.

Now, the fun part.  The office itself.  It’s set up like most any other call center you would expect, but there is nothing wrong with talking with your neighbors or surfing the internet, so long as you are also still getting your work done.  The customers really aren’t even as bad as you would imagine.  They’re friendly, polite, and very understanding.  Even when angry.

There’s a lunch room with a big flat screen tv, complete with skytv (cable basically), and xbox, an air hockey table (it’s broken) computer with internet.  That’s the fun side, the food side is awesome.  Two microwaves, two refrigerators (one is for food, the other one seems to be primarily for milk. Lots of milk), a sink with a regular tap and a tap for filtered cold drinking water, and a 3rd tap that spits out boiling water. Yes. Boiling water from a tap.  What do you need the boiling water for? Oh to make cup-a-soups, the the instant coffee granules, or the hot tea that is also provided.  Two dishwasher drawers.  And, an espresso/cappuccino machine.  Kiwis are apparently notorious for their coffee snobbery.

There are windows everywhere and you can look out of the lunchroom, straight across the marshland next to the bay and you can see the sky tower and the harbor bridge.  It’s really quite lovely.  The office is not dark and dingy at all, it is surrounded by windows (like almost everything else down here) and the desks are colorful and fairly up to date.

There is a sore lacking in chairs, the one that I was in today had like no padding on the seat at all.  I would have been better off sitting in the lunch chairs all day for comfort.  But, that was my own fault for not grabbing a more comfy chair.

So that’s the environment (oh and a cafe downstairs at reception. pastries, mini-pizzas, hot drinks, all kinds of things. and on Fridays whatever food is leftover downstairs becomes free food) that I’m working, and it only gets better when you focus on the people.

Everybody has been super kind, super understanding and very welcoming.  Nobody has declined to help us out when we needed it, some have even come over and volunteered their help when we were looking panicked.  And they’re just fun guys to be around. There is plenty of joking and conversation to be had, and it’s really just a high energy place to work.  I actually walked out today with my head held high, back straight, and a huge smile on my face.

I can’t remember the last time I could ever say that about a job.  As of right now, I am happy.  This is only for 4 weeks as of right now, but maybe it could turn into something more.  I hope that it does.  My next job is going to suffer in comparison, I’m afraid.

But now, it’s the weekend.  And as much as I would love to stay up late tonight and sleep in tomorrow, i think i’m going to sleep tonight and sleep in tomorrow.

Keep sending the good thoughts!  I need them still!

Leave a Reply

