Sculpt 6k

Well. I’ve gone and done it now.

 

I signed up, registered and everything, to do a 6k run/walk in december.

 

6k?!!?  Holy smokes!

 

It’s pretty much a flat course, down in the CBD, 2 loops around a 3k block, with some chance to look out over the harbor on what will hopefully be a gorgeous summer day.  The plan to get ready for this?  Well, the website had a 5week walking plan set up.  Which basically involves walking 3 days a week for 15, 20, 25, 30 minutes a week respectively, and then taking week 5 a bit easier since that’s race week.  Well considering that for 3 days a week i’m going to the gym and walking on the elliptical for a total of 25 minutes a day, plus all the walking that I do around the house, I think I can manage that. Also, it’s in the CBD!  Which means there’s plenty to look at while walking!  I don’t intend to be leisurely about this, and I am taking it seriously.

 

But who says I can’t admire the architecture along the way?  Or marvel at the view of the harbor as I truck my big butt past it?

 

I am not going to be coming in first.  I am not even looking to ‘place’ or whatever. I am more looking to just be able to say “I finished!” And if I can say that I finished a 6k, then I can finish and do pretty much anything and everything else.  There will be no negativity about this (oh I’m sure there will be, but I will fight it), only positivety.

 

I can do this. I have what it takes.  I have some amazingly inspirational people out there.  There’s Genny who is on Facebook as “My goal to loose 100lbs in 1 year”.  There’s Kevin, over at http://350andfalling.blogspot.com  His pictures of before and current are amazingly helpful.  And there’s Andrea at http://runeatdatesleep.wordpress.com  .

 

Plus the friends that I have here in Auckland, and other parts of new zealand, friends and family back home, and the group of crazy guys from the Penny Arcade Forums’ Weightloss Challenge.  If these guys can do this, then so can I.

 

Look out world! Here I come!

Leave a Reply

